Fanaticus Forum  

Go Back   Fanaticus Forum > Rules > DBA Rules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:07 AM
Itchysama
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Just wondering, but in BBDBA can a waterway be a long side of the table instead of just the short edges?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:30 PM
David Kuijt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:32 PM
imported_Slartibartfast
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I dont see why a waterway cannot be on a long edge.

The only thing is that in BBDBA the defender places terrain and then the attacker decides which long edge to attack from.

I cannot imagine an attacker would wish to have a waterway behind him!

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:24 PM
xeswop
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Placing a waterway by the defender might be done to dissuade the invader from taking the edge with it. The defender might place some features to his advantage if the water way stays on his side. Thus the invader must decide if he would rather keep those features from the defender but have a water way at his back.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2005, 04:09 PM
imported_JamesLDIII
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Is a waerway really that big of a deal at your back? The edge of the board is just as deadly...

How many elements can a littoral BBDBA army reserve to land on the waterway? 0-12? If allies are not littoral does it mean 0-4 or 0-8?

Just curious. I played an Asiatic Greek vs EA Persian BBDBA a couple years ago and let the Greek player land 12 elements on the (short edge) waterway.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2005, 04:51 PM
David Kuijt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by jldiii:
Is a waerway really that big of a deal at your back? The edge of the board is just as deadly...
What, other than the enemy landing troops in combat-contact with your camp?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2005, 05:48 PM
Ares
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by jldiii:
How many elements can a littoral BBDBA army reserve to land on the waterway? 0-12? If allies are not littoral does it mean 0-4 or 0-8?

Just curious. I played an Asiatic Greek vs EA Persian BBDBA a couple years ago and let the Greek player land 12 elements on the (short edge) waterway.
I don't read anywhere in the rules that the number of elements you can littoral-land is increased for Big Battle; when I played Big Battle at De Bellis Columbus last fall, I only landed 4 elements from my Later Crusaders in each battle.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:05 PM
xeswop
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Yes, same number as in the small game. Just like the 0-2 elements switched
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.