Fanaticus Forum  

Go Back   Fanaticus Forum > Rules > DBA 1.0-2.2

Old 07-27-2003, 02:02 PM
<lukash>

Hi, I'm just getting into DBA and I have a question. I'm sure it has been asked a million times, but here I go.

Two opposing elements that are in mutual flank contanct and not engaged in combat are considered to be overlapping each other. What does this mean for subsequent bounds? Can one of the elements leave on its next bound or must it turn to engage?

That's it for now, thanks a bunch.
Old 07-27-2003, 06:09 PM
Ares

Quote:
Originally posted by &lt;lukash&gt;:
Can one of the elements leave on its next bound or must it turn to engage?
Either. There's nothing requiring elements in such a dispositon to engage each other.

ERic
Old 07-27-2003, 06:21 PM
<lukash>

Thanks, that's what I thought, but the rules don't "say" it.
Old 07-29-2003, 12:00 AM
xeswop

A good questiona and Eric is right on but let me add a couple of points.

Consider element that are in mutual edge contact or front corner contact to be in an "overlap position," but not overlapping. For the latter there needs to be some element in frontal contact. It's like in soccer/football where a person can be in an off-side position but is not off sides until some other event occurs, like the player's mate kicks the ball.

Second, an element cannot move into mutual edge contact intentionally unless the defender is already in frontal contact. You can not move into an overlap position, you can only move into overlapping. If an element is overlapping and its mate is forced to recoil, then it is left in an overlap position and can move or stay or engage.

[ July 28, 2003, 21:04: Message edited by: xes*** ]
Old 07-29-2003, 01:31 AM
Joe Mauloni

Quote:
Second, an element cannot move into mutual edge contact intentionally unless the defender is already in frontal contact. You can not move into an overlap position, you can only move into overlapping.
I'm confused (again!) : I seem to miss basic rules all the time.