Fanaticus Forum  

Go Back   Fanaticus Forum > Discussion > Rants and Raves

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:41 PM
Ammianus's Avatar
Ammianus Ammianus is offline
Praetor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 1,163
Default

It's worrisome because their nefarious activities may impact this forum.
My ignore list is gigantic! Hopefully our system administrator can take immediate action to delete this throng and shut down their activities.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:13 PM
General Lee's Avatar
General Lee General Lee is offline
Evocati
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 129
Default

I hate how intelligent spammers have gotten. And I'm told that, for the most part, it's the work of bots and not actual human programmers.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:29 PM
Chris Brantley's Avatar
Chris Brantley Chris Brantley is offline
Imperator
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 2,382
Default

A new trick by the spammers I'm afraid. All deleted now..but will have to keep a close eye on new registrations until I can find a new tech solution. Appreciate all the notices of nefarity.
__________________
Placidum Servare et Gerere.

-------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:02 AM
David Constable's Avatar
David Constable David Constable is offline
Prefect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Redditch, England
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
I hate how intelligent spammers have gotten. And I'm told that, for the most part, it's the work of bots and not actual human programmers.
Humans write programmes for learning bots, and that is what makes it difficult. So a bot learns from WHEN being turned on, and it learns by web site as well, but checks what works on one site with all, THAT WAY it LEARNS the different systems ideas work with.

It is like doing code breaking.

David Constable
__________________
--------------

Forget DBA3.0, 2mm blocks is where it is at, every army in your lunch box.

Last edited by David Constable; 08-07-2012 at 04:29 AM. Reason: altered that way it learns.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-06-2012, 12:02 PM
Adrian Bryan's Avatar
Adrian Bryan Adrian Bryan is offline
Evocati
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cleveland, England.
Posts: 126
Default

Why the hell can't these people turn there hand to doing something good! instead of trying to mess things up for other people all the bloody time!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-06-2012, 02:36 PM
Haardrada's Avatar
Haardrada Haardrada is offline
Centurion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 324
Default

Can't these idiots be reported to some net policing body in the U.S. and be blocked? Or how about leaving feedback on the sites they are selling from saying how useless the items are they are trying to sell?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2012, 03:41 PM
Bardolph's Avatar
Bardolph Bardolph is offline
Fanatici
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 99
Default

I usually check the "whois" on the links they post, if they are using a US based webhost like GoDaddy I report them to the webhost.

http://www.internic.net/whois.html
Just use the domain name, leave off the www

For instance, the current idiot is spamming for several sites, one of them, milliontalks DOT com is hosted by DirectNIC, here is their spam reporting email address: abuse@directnic.com
from this page: http://www.directnic.com/help/faq/?question_id=526

One of the others I checked was harmonycentral DOT com, hosted by PSI-USA Inc., which of course is located in Germany...

Also useful is the ICANN complaint form, for reporting the registrars that host spammers:
http://reports.internic.net/cgi/regi...lem-report.cgi

Now whether or not it actually does any good is open to question. I think GoDaddy has a big enough profile they will do something, these smaller companies are less likely to care as long as they are getting paid. If ICANN pulls their accreditation though then they have a big problem.

Last edited by Bardolph; 08-06-2012 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2012, 04:23 PM
timurilank's Avatar
timurilank timurilank is offline
Praetor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,020
Default

But why did they select 2.2.+ to start? I would have thought HOTT.
__________________
Cheers,
Robert

“It’s a good day for the crows”.

http://18thcenturysojourn.blogspot.com/
http://dbagora.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.