Fanaticus Forum  

Go Back   Fanaticus Forum > Rules > v2.2+

Old 07-01-2015, 12:13 AM
Centurion

Default Why not use those lists?

There are a couple things I believe about DBA army lists:

1. In a game with only 12 elements, each element type should be (roughly) equal in usefulness. Note: I did not say equally powerful...

2. As a history teacher, I know exactly how much (educated) guesswork is involved in our understanding of history, especially ancient history. Because of this, all DBA army lists will be someone's interpretation of history (i.e., probably not perfectly accurate).

Given these two things, I cannot see any problem with allowing DBA players to choose armies from both the 2.2 and the 3.0 lists.

If #1 above is correct, then any combination of twelve elements would be balanced.
If #1 is incorrect, then the armies are already out of balance and it won't make any difference.

If a tournament organizer believes that one list is more historically accurate than another (especially in themed events), then that list could be specified for use in that event.

In an open tournament, should players be allowed to use any list from 2.2 or 3.0?
Why or why not?
Old 07-01-2015, 12:28 AM
Propraetor

Did you mean to post this in the 2.2+ section? If so, why? To be more specific, do you believe there is a groundswell of gamers who use the 3.0 army lists who want to play 2.2+? Or that there might be such in the future?

I'm not (entirely) being facetious -- I'm making the point that I don't really see "3.0 gamers wanting to use 3.0 army lists while playing 2.2+" as a large population right now. And if this is (as it is currently) an entirely theoretical exercise (i.e., no such people are showing up in droves), what does it matter?