In playing a game last weekend, I realized an interesting anomaly in the rules. If a general is in a wood (or BUA), troops more than 600 paces away take 2 extra PIPs to move - so 3 PIP's total for most, 4 for some (Elephants,Art.,etc.). If that same general is killed (and assuming that this does not cause the game to end), those same troops now only need 1 extra PIP - i.e. for general being lost - so only 2 total; 3 for some. So ironically, there is less of a PIP penalty for the general being dead inside the wood/BUA, than when he was alive.
Have I interpreted this correctly? Seems wrong to me. Thanks.