PDA

View Full Version : Flank steak sandwich proves fatal ??????


Don Ray
08-10-2005, 01:45 AM
:confused:
If an element 'A' is sandwiched between 2 enemy elements('r' and 's') on the basis of flanks only contact like so: "opq" on top of "rAs", then if A lost to p and was forced to recoil, would A be prevented from recoiling by its flank contact with r or s, and so be destroyed????????
Many thanks for your clarification,
Don Ray

Don Ray
08-10-2005, 01:58 AM
Hi,
Sorry, my 2 questions belong in the rules and questions section. I've asked Chris for help!
Don

Jerome
08-10-2005, 07:11 AM
No. A would be destroyed only if r or s had their front in contact with A's side. Side/side contact do not cause destruction.

xeswop
08-10-2005, 01:53 PM
Just to clarify. Does the top example below show what you have in mind. If so then Jerome is exactly correct.
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~abeattie/dbasum2005/sandwich.jpg


Problems sometimes arise when people do not use words as intended in the rules. It is better to reserve the terms flank and flank contact and flank attack to cases of front edges contacting side edges. When enemy elements are in side to side contact, then they are overlapped or in overlap, or just side to side even if a side can be called a flank.