View Full Version : distant shooting
02-07-2005, 06:40 PM
On the Yahoo group there was recently much discussion about Distant Shooting. I tried to bring together all of the ideas into a single document. Those of you who do not get to that site might like to take a look.
I am interested in knowing if I missed anything or learn of different views. See it here
Hannibal Ad Portas
02-07-2005, 08:29 PM
From your descriptions, I see that "corners" are omitted. That is good....actually, it's great! Each edge thus faces entirely in one direction and it eliminates the weird quirks where a unit to a flank and in front once could declare that it could be shooting at the "rear edge" because it could see and target a rear corner....Bravo!
02-08-2005, 12:03 PM
If an Artillery moves to within 5 inches of an enemy artillery does the non moving artillery have to tartget it in the next bound?
Local players have read the commentary and now the shooting summary and now are confused. Maybe one of these could be amended so they agree more clearly.
From commentary -
13. If Artillery makes a tactical move, then it cannot shoot in its own bound, nor in enemy bound if shot at. If artillery does not make a tactical move, then it can shoot in its own bound and can shoot at any element that shoots at it in opponent's bound, if otherwise allowed.
From the new shooting summary:
So if a Bow is a potential target along with, say, a Blade or Knight, and the Bow could shoot at your shooting element, then the Bow must be selected as a target. In the enemy bound this would include Artillery as it can shoot back at the one shooting at it. In your bound you do need to select Artillery as a target as it can shoot at you if you shoot at it (this is according to Phil).
Or does the shooting summary need to qualify this by saying the Arty only needs to be targeted if it did not move in it's own previous bound? I think a specific reference to this common situation would be great -- whatever the correct interp is.
[ February 08, 2005, 09:04: Message edited by: Roland Fricke ]
02-08-2005, 01:17 PM
Roland, thanks for pointing out the difference.
I first thought that an Artillery that moved in its own bound could not shoot back at element shooting at it in next enemy bound. Thus, enemy elements did not need to shoot at the artillery because it could not shoot back.
The rule says
"Artillery shoot only in their own side's bound or if they are themselves shot at by the target and only if they did not move. "
Artillery cannot move in enemy bound. So there are the followinig options
1. Artillery moves in its bound = cannot shoot in that bound
2. Artillery does not move in its bound = can shoot in that bound
3. Artillery does not move in enemy bound = it can shoot in that bound, but only at the element that shoots at it.
Thus if Artillery is shot at in the rear, in enemy bound, it cannot shoot at some other target.
I though you could ignore enemy artillery because if you do not shoot at it, it will not shoot at you. Phil says you must shoot at enemy artillery in your bound if it can shoot back. Having moved in its own bound does not stop it from shooting back.
Does all that make sense. So ignore the commentary, I will fix soon. Use the shooting text.
02-08-2005, 03:08 PM
OK - I think thats where the discussion ended up some months back. One final situation though,
If the you move a bow unit and an Artillery unit into the 5 inch range (but outside 2 inch) of an enemy artillery, does it have to shoot at your artillery or can it shoot your bow thus avoiding the arty vs arty duel? Assume no other shooting elements are in range/involved.
I would think the arty would need to shoot the arty since it can shoot back whereas the bow being outside 2" range is not a threat yet.
02-08-2005, 06:11 PM
You must shoot at an element that can shoot back if there is a choice between those that can and those that cannot.
So if the you have two targets and one can shoot back, if you shoot at it, then you must shoot at the one that can shoot back. Phil seems to want Artillery duels.
Phil: "They are allowed to reply to shooting in the wrong bound, because otherwise you cannot have an artillery duel."
Personally I do not see why you would have to shoot at the Art because if you do not shoot at it, then it cannot shoot back later and that is what the rule is trying to fix. But I asked this specifically to Phil and he said you must shoot at artillery if otherwise available and can shoot back (if you shoot at it).
". Elements of different sides that can shoot at each other must do so. "
I have told people this means that while a shooter can generally pick any
target in range (?) and firing area, he must pick one that is also a
shooter, that can shoot back (so not enemy Artillery in your bound).
Not so. Artillery can shoot back in any bound unless they move.
03-18-2005, 07:21 AM
Thanks for setting the priority rules straight (who shoouts at whom)! We have been arguing along the same lines in my group, but I haven't been able to express it clearly.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.