View Full Version : Do "impetuous" flank contacters pursue ?
09-29-2004, 03:38 PM
Two elements are fighting face-to-face(e.g. Sp vs Sp),and a Kn/Wb/Hd/SCh element swings onto the flank of one of the combatants. If the flanked element is subsequently destroyed (e.g. unable to recoil due flank contact)....does the "impetuous" flanking element pursue , across the face of the other victorious (but non-impetuous) friendly element ?? Can't find a definitive answer... any ideas ???
09-29-2004, 05:02 PM
Only the frontal element (and any element providing it with rear support) is subject to pursuit.
09-30-2004, 01:00 PM
There is not an explicit statement in one place of what David says. There are a number of rules in the Close Combat and the outcomes section that make it clear that the combat factors and outcomes apply only to the elements in frontal contact (side or rear contact with a War Wagon that then become the front).
There is often confusion about this. Besides the pursuit situation, the recoil and push back rules are similar. When an element is forced to recoil and it pushes back an element and the pushed back element does not have room to go back far enough it is still the recoiled element that is destroyed.
Combat outcomes -- pursuit, recoil, and destroy apply only to the actual elemement in frontal combat. If second rank provides support then it also pursues or is destroyed (unless pike).
If a front rank and a supporting one are forced to recoil and there is not sufficient room, it is the element in frontal combat that is lost, not the support element. However, because the front element is lost, the second one is too. No pushed back element is ever destroyed because it cannot find room to move back. If pushed off the battlefield, then it is destroyed only.
It is true that an element giving flank or rear support to an attacker will recoil if the front element recoils, flees or is destroyed. Thus you would think if the front element wins, the flank or rear would pursue but not so stated in the rules. Do note that if an element loses a combat but does not recoil, flee or get destroyed, then the flank or rear supporters stay in contact. This can happen with a Horde or War Wagon. Either of these can lose a combat against an enemy who has an element friendly to the WWg or Hd on its flank. That flanker stays in contact.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.