View Full Version : recoil
04-25-2004, 08:33 PM
hello! im a newbie and i dont quite understand the recoil rules very well. if you recoil twice is that called doubling? if so what happens in a doubling? (if the unit is recoiled twice is it destroyed?) if any one has a better understanding please tell me what you know that would help alot!
04-25-2004, 11:40 PM
I think the term "doubling" is usually used to refer to teh scores of two combat oponents. I I score a total of 4 and score a total of 8 you have "doubled" me. It is easier to say than "total is half or less than half that of its opponent".
The other common usage is "double based elements" which can refer to two Pike elements mounted together on the same base 2 deep, or to certain elements such as 6Cv or 8Bw that are double the usual depth for elements of their type.
Hope this helps.
04-26-2004, 01:28 AM
let me build a little on Dave's comments. When elements have combat, either distant combat or close combat, both players throw a 6 sided dice. They add their troop type's combat factor, any support factors and tactical factors. Each player ends up with a number. There are three possible combinations. The numbers are equal, one number is more than the other, but not twice as much (for excample 7 to 6) or one number is double or more the other (for example 7 to 3).
If the numbers are tied, only a schythed chariot is destroyed in combat. If one number is higher then that player wins. Usually the one with the lower number (but not half) will recoil but sometimes the lower number will be destroyed (Destroyed if Beaten-- DIB). If Knights beat Blades by just one point the Kn DIB the Blades.. Sometimes an element beaten by just one will flee, sometiimes nothing happens to the lower number. These outcomes are all in the Combat Outcome table. Sometimes an element that is just beaten will be destroyed because of the position it is in. Usually when one element is "doubled" it is destroyed but there are situations where some other result will happen.
So combats end up with a tiie, one is higher but not double, one is double or more. Each of these results for each element is in the outcome table.
The term doubling can be used for a situation some people play as their own version of the game, often in a time period other than Ancients/Medieval. This house rule assigns a point to each recoil outcome for an element. If an element accumulates a certain number of recoils, it is destoryed or it loses fighing power. This is not in the regular rules but if an element needs two recoils to be destroyed in the house rule, this is called doubling. In the standard game, an element can recoil any number of times.
Hope this helps. Always glad to read of new players. Do not hesitate to ask questions. The rules are not as clear as they should be smile.gif
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.