View Full Version : DBM turning to contact in single element wide gaps
Could any of you seasoned players help out? A situation arose in a recent game where a lone (impetuous) knight element ended combat between two lanes of pikes, having destroyed the pikes it faced and making a compulsory follow-up move. This placed it in front corner to front corner contact with two third rank pike elements. It is also in side edge-side edge contact with the surviving first and second ranks on each side.
Given its impetuous move, my understanding is that it would move into legal side contact with either of the 3rd rank pike elements, with which it is already in front corner contact, since the shortest distance between elements is measured from front corner to front corner. This is fine, since the rules say an element in a 1 element wide gap can turn 90 degrees to face enemy. The doubt arose when the element attempted a tactical, not spontaneous, move. Is it allowed to turn to face either of the first or second pike ranks to its flanks, or can it only go forwards to the third or fourth?? :confused:
:mad: Needless to say the knight was not mine and it rampaged through the rest of the unit unchecked - I suspect it would not have mattered which rank it attacked :mad:
Hannibal Ad Portas
05-01-2003, 12:26 AM
If I understand the scenario correctly, I don't think the knights could turn to face the pikes to their flanks because to do so means that they would be cutting across the front/ZOC of the pikes directly in front of them.
sadly there were no pikes to the knights' front, because all 3 rear ranks were destroyed, since they provided rear support in the previous combat. :( Sorry if that was a bit unclear originally!
05-01-2003, 03:21 PM
Unless you were playing by house rules or DBM, if there were three ranks of pikes directly ahead of the Kn initially, only the first two should have been killed by the Kn (since only the second rank can provide support). Actually, I'd have to have the rules at hand to be sure than the second rank of Pk would have been killed -- I dimly recall something about only those supporting troops providing +1 (not +3) support getting killed if the supported element gets killed.
Bad luck, lad -- Pk should be able to make mincemeat of Kn in such a situation! Out of curiousity, what armies were you fielding/facing?
[ May 01, 2003, 12:23: Message edited by: Badger ]
05-01-2003, 06:59 PM
Strange place to ask a DBM question... :eek:
As a spontaneous move, the Kn would have wheeled to hit the flank of either 3rd rank pike since sponno elements move by only 180 degree turns, wheels, and straight forward. (You are allowed more flexible moves to get into contact if you can't do it with 180 turns/wheels/straight, but this is not the case here since you can make contact with a wheel.)
As a tactical move in a gap one element base width wide between two enemy elements, you are allowed to move straight ahead, straight back, or turn 90 degrees to make contact with a flank, or any combination of these.) So, yes, it can contact the flank of any of the elements - 1st through 4th. This is very dangerous for the Kn since it won't be able to recoil, but the payoff is large due to the large zone of death behind the Pk!
where is a better place to ask a DBM question? I had thought Fanaticus was for DBx players, so apologies if this is a site taboo.
Thanks though for the answer - it all becomes clear now. I can return to plotting the impalement of knights on nice long pikes.
The Pikes were Thematic Byzantine Scutatos, taking a pounding from out-of-period Later Hungarian Crusader allies, btw.
05-04-2003, 11:47 PM
I doubt anyone cares if DBM questions are asked but the speed and the quality of the answers might be in doubt. This is primarily a DBA Site, it is part of the DBA Resource Page. There are some members who are serious DBM players and will give good help. There is, however, a Yahoo group devoted specifically to DBM where all the high powered players participate. Good to check there.
If people do ask a DBM, DBR, Hordes of the Things, HFG question, be sure to note that so you do not get a DBA answer.
[ May 04, 2003, 20:52: Message edited by: xes*** ]
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.