PDA

View Full Version : pg12 PURSUING even if not providing support


Pillager
12-25-2011, 02:57 PM
OK, so sometimes Ps can provide rear support to Blades.

That means that Ps always pursue their own foot opponents...

I don't think he meant to say that ???

What besides Ps can sometimes provide rear support to any of the 6 troop types listed?

Seems like a damned convoluted way of saying Ps pursue (sometimes).

DRAFT SAYS:

PURSUING
An element of any

of Knights, Scythed Chariots or Elephants that is fighting against mounted or foot, or

of Pikes, Blades or Warband

(or that could provide rear support to any element of these even if not providing such support against current opponents)

that is fighting against foot,

whose close combat opponents recoil, break-off, flee or are destroyed

must immediately pursue

Mark Davies
12-25-2011, 03:42 PM
Wouldn't that also cover Wb behind other Wb pursuing Ps.

Lobotomy
12-25-2011, 03:48 PM
Wouldn't that also cover Wb behind other Wb pursuing Ps.

And pikes pursuing Bw or Ps.

Pillager
12-25-2011, 04:29 PM
Are we agreed that what he meant was to define which second ranks follow first rank pursuers,

BUT instead he simply created a long list of pursuers with convoluted conditional statements to parse?

larryessick
12-25-2011, 09:18 PM
Are we agreed that what he meant was to define which second ranks follow first rank pursuers,

BUT instead he simply created a long list of pursuers with convoluted conditional statements to parse?

No, we are not agreed.

What we have instead is another example of intentional confusion of the rules by taking specific parts out of context in a deliberate effort to confuse and create conflicts with the rules where none exist.

An element cannot provide rear support to another element if it is not lined up behind the element -- or behind an adjacent element in the case of Ps. Thus the bit highlighted does not apply unless lined up in that way.

Congratulations on manufacturing a confusion where none exists. You must be proud of yourself. :(

Pillager
12-25-2011, 10:56 PM
>An element cannot provide rear support to another element if it is not lined up behind the element -- or behind an adjacent element in the case of Ps. Thus the bit highlighted does not apply unless lined up in that way.
>

It's you who is creating confusion.

It is true that a Psiloi "lined up behind the element -- or behind an adjacent element in the case of Ps" can sometimes provide rear support (to at least one of the previously listed Troop Types, under some conditions).

It is also true that a Ps which is in Close Combat is "not providing such support against current opponents."

Therefore, the way the rules are written, a Ps in Close Combat will Pursue (under the conditions stated).

DRAFT PG 12

WHO PURSUES?
An element of any of

Knights, Scythed Chariots or Elephants that is fighting against mounted or foot, or of Pikes, Blades or Warband (or that could provide rear support to any element of these even if not providing such support against current opponents) that is

UNDER WHAT CONDITIONS?
fighting against foot, whose close combat opponents recoil, break-off, flee or are destroyed

must immediately pursue [MORE CONDITIONS]

Pillager
12-25-2011, 10:59 PM
Apparantly you desire it to say:

(or A SECOND RANK ELEMENT that could provide rear support to any element of these even if not providing such support against current opponents)

Which is fine by me. But its not what it currently says.