PDA

View Full Version : 2.2 vs 3.0

herr zinnling
12-18-2011, 04:31 PM
Do you think it is possible that the majority of the DBA community will keep playing version 2.2 and 3.0 will be rejected?

Do you know of a wargame that has been more popular in its older version than in its newer version?
(I started playing wargames 6 years ago, so my experience is limited.)

I'm asking because my friends always prefer the newest edition of a given rule set, no matter what.

Hannibal Ad Portas
12-18-2011, 04:36 PM
Hard to say. I think the supporters for 3.0 are fewer, but more vociferous in its defense. I will give 3.0 more play testing, but I don't care much for the fast foot moves and the impetuous blade and pike. My next test will be a foot army versus a mounted heavy opponent.

david kuijt
12-18-2011, 05:15 PM
Do you know of a wargame that has been more popular in its older version than in its newer version?

Every game ever played has a life cycle. There is a time when nobody played the game because it hadn't been invented yet; there will be a time when nobody plays it in the future. During the life cycle of a game, there will be a time when it is most popular; times when its popularity rises, and times when its popularity falls. All of that is obvious when you think about it.

New versions of a game can cause a resurgence of interest -- that's what happened to DBA when v2.0 came out, eleven or so years ago. Very successful. New versions of a game can damage interest in a game. If you look at the history of WRG, of DBM, of any long-standing wargame with many editions, you can find many examples that were successful (interest rose) and unsuccessful (interest dropped).