View Full Version : Double DBA deployment
As Double DBA isn't an "official" variation of DBA, I'd thought I'd ask this question here - maybe should've been in House Rules?
Does army deployment in DDBA follow the rule of Big Battle? I figured that a two-list army (army + ally) is deployed as two 12-element commands, but can a one-list army be divided arbitrarily, with a sub-general of any element type, as in BBDBA? And does a two-list army require two camps?
[ June 20, 2004, 23:28: Message edited by: Ares ]
06-21-2004, 03:05 PM
You ask this question as if there is some correct answer. Did you just want suggestions?
Why not make the Double DBA deployment like BB. Defender does both, then Invader, Commands would be 12 and 12 if an ally is used, but if two of the same army, then smallest command would need to be 1/6 (4 elements). Maybe that is too small, so go with 6 like BB. 6 and 18 seems better than 20 and 4.
Camps could be like BB. If an ally then each command has a camp. If two the same, then just one camp for both. One list army could have a standard general and then one of any type (usually allowed)
My 2 cents. This might be fun to play. Shorter than BB but more expansive that normal size. Is 48" wide enough?
I guess I should have stated that I had in mind the Double DBA tournaments being put on by Mike Demana in Ohio this summer, one in July (?) and one in September at Advance the Colors. I might attend the ATC event, and since this seemed to be a recurring event I thought there might be an established procedure. I remember seeing Double DBA details in the past, and I do believe it's on a 48" board but I don't remember anything about deployment or camps.
06-21-2004, 05:48 PM
There are established rules for camps and deployment. I played in Mike's DBA Double at Advance the Colors last year, but I am afraid I can't remember what those rules were, so I'll send him an email and ask that he reply to you.
06-21-2004, 06:54 PM
Actually the rules are already posted under rules variants on the fanaticus page. Check it out.
06-23-2004, 12:12 AM
I know l-o-n-g time, no post. My apologies...I bought a house this Spring and it is a LOT of work. All you home owners are chuckling at me, the naive first time buyer. I was surprised and overwhelmed at the time and money I have spent -- and this one was pretty much in "move-in" condition. Imagine if I'd bought a "fixer upper!"
Anyway, to my baby, Double Size DBA Tournaments. I use the rules as written in the book, with two exceptions. Deployment is as stated, on a 24"x48" board. Terrain, order of deployment, etc., all the same. As Bob said, armies can be either one list X2, or one list plus a legal ally (in which case it is 12 elements of each).
The changes? No BUAs...just a personal preference. I know, I know, Phil has "softened" their impact over the last couple revisions. However, I still subscribe to the Kuijt Theory of their Ahistorical Nature.
Also, a victory condition change. Your army is defeated in the circumstances mentioned in the rules, but ALSO if both of your commands are demoralized, while the enemy's aren't. This is in response to feedback from last year's successful Advance the Colors tournament. With both commands demoralized, there is little you can do anyway. So, this just makes it "official" that you lost.
Anyway, I hope lots of you can make it to Origins THIS WEEKEND (June 24-27). We have a full slate of DBA:
• Double Size DBA Tournament, Thursday, 7 pm
• 15mm DBA Open, Friday, 7 pm
• Battles from History DBA Tournament, Saturday, noon
Plus, Bob Beattie is running a HOTT game on Saturday evening, and Steve Sattler a HOTT tournament on Sunday!
06-23-2004, 12:16 AM
Oh, Ares, I forgot to answer your questions!
With a X2 army, the smallest command can be 6 elements. However you want to arrange the elements within the two commands, though, is your choice. So, you can group your pikemen together, etc.
If you chose an army plus ally, naturally each is a separate 12-element command.
Hope to see you at Advance the Colors in September! And yes, I intend to make it a Friday evening tradition at ATC...
Thanks for your interest...
Originally posted by Mike Demana:
With a X2 army, the smallest command can be 6 elements. However you want to arrange the elements within the two commands, though, is your choice. So, you can group your pikemen together, etc.That's what I wanted to hear smile.gif .
So, based on the above and on the Double DBA variant rules, I'll ask 2 more questions (assuming a 2x one-list army):
1. The sub-general's element can be any element in the command, and is not required to be of the type so designated as the general's element in the list? (as per Big Battle)
2. Each command is assigned a permanent pip die, and there is no designating of "high-pip" or "low-pip" commands? (as per the DDBA Variant Rules)
06-23-2004, 01:42 PM
The answer is (if I remember correctly) yes and no.
1) Yes, as in BBDBA the subgeneral (in x2 army) can be any element.
2) No, like BBDBA, there is a high pip command and a low pip command (just no middle pip command).
It is great fun, see you on Thursday, hopefully.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.