PDA

View Full Version : Roman Invasion of Britain Campaign.

Cromwell
02-22-2011, 12:52 PM
Having some spare time I drew up a very simple Campaign to represent Carractacu's battles against Plautius and then Scapula.

Details are below with a report of how it worked out.

First attempt at doing something like this so be gentle:) as I am still new to DBA

Plautius, Scapula and Carractacus.

THE ROMAN INVASION OF BRITAIN.

The campaign consists of the three main battles fought by Carractacus.

Battle of Medway, Romans commanded by Plautius

Battle of the Thames, Romans commanded by Plautius

Battle of Caer Caradoc, Romans commanded by Scapula.

The terrain for each battle is set up as per DBA rules. Except for the following. Medway and Thames must each have a river that divides the armies. The difficulty of the river is determined by usual DBA rules.
The Battle of Caer Caradoc must be predominantly hilly.

Armies involved are Ancient British II/53 and Early Imperial Roman II/56.

The first battle is fought between the two armies normally.

The elements eliminated in the battle are transferred to that armies reserve.
Each element eliminated gives 1 point to the opposition.
Each element pushed over a board edge also gives 1 point (however they are returned to their army for the next battle not moved to the reserve like eliminated units).
A camp captured gives 5 points.
If a General element is eliminated 5 points are awarded.
If Carractacus is eliminated at any stage his brother Togodumnes takes over for the next battle. If he is eliminated then the Romans have won the Campaign.
If Plautius is eliminated then Scapula takes over. If Scapula falls then Vespasian takes over. Killing Roman Generals does not win the campaign for the British in the short term (points earned by it may).